A Wild Plot Appeared!

Clearly I’ve been playing Pokemon too much.  My mom is my sounding board for most of my ideas.  So when I’m pounding out a plot (one that’s actually fairly solid!) she’s the one that gets to hear all of the excitement and the whining when something isn’t working.  She’s a pretty good sport to say the least.  A few days ago I was playing around with an idea and we finally got something that I feel like is worth writing.

I have found the most effective way for coming up with a plot for me is sitting on the couch, with a box of cinnamon Teddy Grams, my poodle sitting on my feet, and laughing until my sides hurt enough to give me some kind of revelation.  This probably was a one shot plot designing situation, but hey it worked!  And my toes stayed nice and warm.

1500 words in so far, and I’m actually fairly happy with the opening!  😀

The hardest part for me when getting a plot together is making sure that’s its strong enough to sustain the story.  Subplots are easier to design, but interweaving them into the main plot can be tricky for me too.  I’ve got a few subplots in mind that will fit into the plot fairly easily, but figuring out the spacing for them is the next part I’m working on.  Building a plot feels like sewing a quilt.  And all of the little subplots are the various patches.  🙂

How about y’all?  What helps you to draft your plots?  Do you need certain brain foods, drinks, sitting in a certain place, people?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wolfraven80
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 13:59:53

    The right music — that’s essential for me! I do a lot of brainstorming and planning at work (while working: one of the good things about my job) and nothing helps me more than having a playlist that gets me thinking about my characters, scenes, etc.

    Good luck with your new project!

    Reply

  2. nerdywordyjana
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 14:08:09

    Music is a hit or miss for me; if I’m already writing, it’s okay sometimes. But generally music distracts me. If it’s instrumental, I’m good though. And Final Fantasy music tends to be my go to! What kind of music do you listen to?

    Reply

  3. wolfraven80
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 11:10:12

    I have elaborate playslists that are associated with all my long stories. I play these at work while I’m brainstorming to help me think about scenes and various bits of the story. And my tastes in rock range all over the place so my playlists would probably look pretty whacked to most people. My last one included both Katy Perry and Linkin Park. 😉

    When I’m actually writing I do tend to use non-vocal stuff: electronic or movie soundtracks typically, depending on the mood I’m going for. Sometimes I play regular songs — usually a single one on repeat — if one is strongly associated with a particular scene.

    Interesting that you use FF music. I can’t because it’s too strongly associated with the game and its locales and characters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

