The Final Evolution, by Jeff Somers

I just finished reading Jeff Somer’s latest novel, The Final Evolution.  It’s the fifth and final book in the Avery Cates series.  If you like sci-fi, you have to pick up his books!  I mentioned them in another post, but a better explanation is needed.

Avery is an asshole.  He’s not someone that I’d enjoy being around in real life, mainly because I’m about 90% sure that he’d shoot me.  But he has rules.  He an asshole by necessity.

Jeff Somer’s style is very, very fast paced.  His books move quicker than any other books I’ve read.  It’s an onslaught of action from the first sentence.  The previous books (The Electric Church, The Digital Plague, The Eternal Prison, and the Terminal State) all have this extreme pace.  The fourth and fifth books slowed down to me a smidge, but I don’t mind.  The writing reflects Avery’s age and energy level.

The reason I fell in love with his work is because I couldn’t figure out the plot.  Think you know what’s happening?  NOPE.  After every major event I had the “woah” effect.

His language is not child-friendly in the least.  The f-bomb appears a lot.  Very little sexual innuendo though.  Avery doesn’t have time to get laid, there’s usually someone trying to kill him.  I love the sardonic tone of the novels.  Avery is a wise-cracker.

I don’t want to go into the plot of the novels because part of the jot of reading them is the surprises Somers has interwoven.  Highly recommend all of his books!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. poetofmidnight
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 13:59:36

    I’ve been looking for a good book series to read. I love being kept in suspense. Perhaps I’ll look into it. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

