Overflow

I started writing when I was younger because I couldn’t get the words to come out verbally.  I’m still a tad terrified to speak to people, but by necessity I do it.  It was easier for me to retreat to a world that I could create and enjoy than to interact with others.  When listening to other people talking, I try to remember their words and the mental zingers I come up with so I can write them down.  In my head I’m quite funny, able to get a room of people to laugh.  But those jokes rarely come out of mouth.  My writing oftentimes is an overflow of the things that I wanted to say but couldn’t.  Right now for instance, my mom is in the hospital and all I want to do is write.  I need a way for my emotions to come out.  There’s a crisis in my character’s future, I can tell you that.

Books, and really more generally I mean stories, are also a reason that I’ll sit in front of my computer or scribble something down on paper.  I fall so far into a story that when I come back up for air, all I can think about is creating a world like it.  Not the same concepts, but a world that can carry me that far away.

My writing is basically an overflow of all the words I’ll never say and the stories I never want to leave.

What about ya’ll?  What makes you write?  And why did you start writing?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. writersquarry
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 03:07:02

    such a great blog, Jana. everything that you’ve written in this post is the opposite of me. Too cool! I’m funny in person but a drag in my writing, and one of my big lessons over the past couple years is learning to shut up. Lastly, during a crisis, the last thing I want to do is write. I would give anything to be able to transfer my humor to the page. I’m working on it, but, not too hard of course. It’s still summer. It’s always a treat to have a new blog post from you. Be well.

    Reply

  2. nerdywordyjana
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 07:07:57

    Thank you!

    I envy you then! Offline and in person I’m a terribly shy person; I avoid eye contact with anyone and any words I do say are usually squeaked out with a thank you/I’m sorry/excuse me/etc and I bolt. Online and in my writing I can be a little more open and free to express myself. The personal element is removed and I can relax.

    I think the trick to transferring humor is to make yourself laugh; I like to create situations that amuse me for my characters to experience. In person I’m also a huge klutz and have the weirdest luck, so a lot of humor comes from the oddities of my life. (Like, I’m at war with Canadian Geese. Have been since I was five, and every year they form up like a battle squad in front of my house and attack if I try to come out!)

    Same to you! ❤

    Reply

  3. wolfraven80
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 10:42:31

    First of all, I’m sorry to hear that you’re mom isn’t well. I’ll be thinking of you guys, okay? *hugs*

    Secondly… I’ve always made up stories in my head. I can remember doing it when I was five or six, but I only started writing them down when I was in secondary school. I was going to school in my second language and I was very shy and reserved. Writing became my only real form of self-expression and for most of my teenage years that was the role it played. Of course that meant that my earliest attempts tended to be wish-fulfilling fantasies as I wrote about a character who was stronger, more outspoken, more charismatic, etc. than I could ever hope to be.

    Nowadays I don’t think it has the same cathartic role. It’s more like an addiction! I’ve defined myself by my writing for so long that I hardly know what to do with myself if I’m not writing. Somehow, it’s still my best way of making my mark on the world. Writing non-fiction –essay, reviews, editorials and such – just doesn’t give me the same sense of satisfaction. I love having a story in my head and being able to share it with others; it’s not a direct reflection of my emotions the way my younger writing was, but it’s still something of mine that I’m putting out there.

    I have a quote on my LJ from Gerard Manley Hopkins poem “As Kingfishers Catch Fire”

    Each mortal thing does one thing and the same:
    Deals out that being indoors each one dwells;
    Selves — goes itself; myself it speaks and spells,
    Crying What I do is me: for that I came.

    That last line sums it up. Story-telling is part of who I am. The rest is just me trying to learn the craft of getting it down on paper and doing it better and better (or at least I hope so! 😉 )

    Reply

  4. nerdywordyjana
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 13:41:46

    Thanks, <3.

    I hear ya on the addiction side of writing! My relationship tends to be a love-hate at times. Like you, story-telling is what I'm addicted to. I made up stories all the time when I was little too, but I didn't have the epiphany to *write them down* until I was in my teens.

    That's an interesting poem. I'm gonna have to look it up! 😀

    Reply

  5. poetofmidnight
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 14:19:10

    I hope you mother is out of the hospital and on her feet soon. And as to answer the question what makes me write, well, it’s one of the few things I’m good at. I was never the person who was super smart at math and I never favored science so I turned to writing. If I’m having a dreary day I can always turn to my pencil and let the words drain out of me (and if it’s good enough post it on my blog). It’s not only that I want to write but I need to write. It calls to me. As for when I started writing, I suppose it was a few years back when my friend had been writing a vampire love story (we were really obsessed with Twilight back then) and I thought I would take a stab at writing my own story. Ever since then I’ve enjoyed writing stories and poetry. I’m glad I came back to your blog to read this post. I’ll be back again soon!

    Reply

  6. minnesotatransplant
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 08:33:22

    I started writing, really, when I got a diary for Christmas in eighth grade. Over time, I loved being able to go back and look at what was happening and how I felt. I became a newspaper reporter because I liked writing, but I learned to adore seeing my byline in print. It’s all about the fame now. I’m addicted to my blog stats, and I dream of being a published author.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

