Prep to Panic

So, Nano is officially around the corner.  We’re less than a week guys.  Now is the time when the happy, excited emotions start to take a turn for the sheer, utter panic.  Questions about your sanity are starting to creep in.  50k is nothing to laugh at.  And in 30 days.  That’s… that’s more words than days!  It seems almost mean.  And you’ve already blabbed about doing Nano.  You’ve probably done the Superhero pose too!

Superhero-Nano-Conquering Pose

And after you do the pose, declare your intentions to conquer Nano and be victorious, there’s really no turning back.  So now the reality is setting in for what you’ve committed yourself to doing.  And you feel the panic.

But!  There’s good news!

Panic is good!  It’s normal and natural.  It’s probably even a bit healthy for you!  At least you’re still emoting.  In a couple weeks, Nano fatigue is going to kick in and you’ll become a Writing Zombie.  And we all know Writing Zombies feel nothing and need a constant supply of wooooooooooooooorrrrrrrdddddddddddzzzzzzz to survive.

So, enjoy the panic.  Feel it.  while you still can  And if you can’t kick the panic, head to nanowrimo.org for some pep talks.  Neil Gaiman’s made me feel better.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica P
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 01:37:13

    I’m so excited 😀 and am doing my NaNo-conquering pose in the face of my no-plot adversity!

    See you at the starting line!

    Jessica P xo
    My Latest Blog Post: The Search for a Plot (a NaNoWriMo conundrum)

    Reply

  2. Emerald Barnes
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 02:46:45

    I just saw how little time we had and panicked. haha. This post is like perfect timing for me. I only have like 1/4 of an outline. Good thing I’m a pantser at heart! 😉

    Reply

  3. wolfraven80
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 15:16:28

    Five Nano victories is quite enough for me, especially as I don’t want to interrupt my current project (which is currently just under 30k in length). So I’ll just stay here on the sidelines and with you much luck and much long-windedness. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

