The Home Stretch

Nano ends in 3 days. This has been a great month for me. I’ve been swamped with school, and Nano has been a bit stressful but I’m in the home stretch now! Here’s the count:

45774 / 50000
(91.55%)

Woo! I’ve got 4226 words left to go. I never had the buffer built up, but I think it’s better that I didn’t. Not having the buffer made me responsible for writing everyday. I’ve set a deadline for myself to get the first draft done by the end of this year, and I think I can do it. It feels natural to write everyday again, and that was one my main goals for doing Nano. It’s such a cathartic experience. Writing everyday has been like a mental retreat from the world; even though that world can be frustrating too!

Has anyone else been doing Nano? Anyone feeling the same catharsis I am? 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wolfraven80
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 14:06:05

    Gotta tell you… I never felt like that about my Nanos. 😦

    When I write normally, I do 500 words an hour. Having to write 1667 every day meant I couldn’t spend three hours on it which resulted in some very poor writing. The second year I did Nano I was off work for the first half of the month and a little of the stuff I produced was decent because I was able to spend time for it, but most of the material I’ve written for Nano just end up being drivel.

    Reply

  2. nerdywordyjana
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 00:53:55

    Aww I’m sorry! 😦

    You also have been writing more and at a more frequent rate than I have; I’m finally getting into a daily writing schedule (well, I’m putting it on hold until finals are done. I didn’t quite realize just how much I’ve got to by Friday! Oops).

    For me, if I’m not on a deadline/have a goal, it’s not going to happen. Even if it’s a deadline that I set, I need one. It becomes something I have to do, and it’s a challenge. And I won’t back down from a challenge. XD If I spend too much time on something, it’ll turn out terrible. I’ll agonize over every, single word and never move forward. I have to save all of the editing I do until I’m finished working on something, otherwise I’ll get so caught up in tweaking it and get stuck. I’ve done it so many times before; part of it comes from me hating to do drafts, so I figured, if I edit as I go along, I won’t have to do a draft! Wrong. XD I’m notorious for typos too, so I have to leave it alone so I can see them.

    Different styles for different people, I guess. It amazes me how all writers approach their work in such different ways. I love reading about other writers’ processes. Reading about others helps me understand my own process better, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

