12k Until Draft 1 Completion

I finished the semester on Dec. 12. I’ve been working on my project since exams ended, and I’m so excited for the end to be in sight! 12k doesn’t sound like a lot, especially right after Nano, but I’ve had more problems properly structuring the ending in my head than I did the middle. Odd, I know. I know what the ending will be–that’s not the problem. I’m having an issue setting it up in way that works. I had an idea for it, but as the story has progressed I don’t think it’ll work and I don’t want to force the wrong scenes into the draft.

This is the first draft of anything that I’ve written than I don’t think is a complete pile of crap. I know there there is revision and editing to be done, but I don’t feel as concerned with it as I have with other works. I’ve been working with these characters for about four years now, and I think I’ve finally figured them out enough that I feel comfortable in the draft.

Which is why this ending-issue is bothering me. I know the ending. I know how my characters will respond, what they’ll say, etc. It’s that final hurdle of the last set-up scene that’s killing me. Normally when I’m feeling stuck in my work, I turn to reading about other people’s ideas/methods/tips on writing. I find it cathartic; thank the Lord I’m not the only crazy person out there!

The end is in sight. And I’m thankful for it; I’m excited to walk away from this for a little while and return to it with a fresh mind. But that can’t happen until I figure out this scene!

I need to get better at this blogging thing too. Hmm. I’ll add that to the to-do list.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kaitlin
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 14:37:29

    Consider skipping straight to the final scenes and filling in the set up later. Having the final written will give you a better idea what the set up needs. That, or abbreviate the set up – this is what I usually do because writing non linearly drives me nuts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

