Good Days

Today has been an overall awesome day. Glenn and I went to the “fancy” mall in this area; it has the more unique stores and it’s the heart of Norfolk. That small area of the city is pretty, but the rest isn’t. And we tried out this sushi place that he’d been to before. The sushi was really good! Volcano rolls make me so happy. ;_; We also had a Domo roll (eel, shrimp, crab, and avocado), and a spicy yellowtail roll. OM NOM NOM. Bought some salsa and chips from Harry and David’s. I love that store so much. There’s so many delicious things there! It was hard to control myself. XD

The best part of today aside from spending it with Glenn? Hearing my mom say this:

“This is publishable. This is the best draft you’ve written, hands down.”

Now THAT’S how you have a great day! I’ve been getting good feedback from my readers; overall good but there’s about a million typos. -.-” Apparently, I’m the queen of typos and missing words. Oops.

Even still, hearing that made me feel great. My mom is an avid mystery-book reader and she couldn’t figure everything out/was surprised. That’s about the best compliment a writer can get, I think.

So, how goes everyone’s writing? Love to hear about it! ❤

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wolfraven80
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 11:09:29

    Writing is that thing where you sit in front of a blank page and fill it with words, right? I think I remember that… but I’m not sure.

    I need a vacation that does not involve energy-devouring familial obligations. ;_;

    I wish I had your confidence. Right now… I doubt everything. The last time I handed out a manuscript… Ugh. One person said the beginning was slow and the middle was good; the other one said the reverse. I spent weeks trying to figure out what to do with that. I’m not sure how it’ll go this time as I’ll have to find different people, but since that probably won’t be an issue till this summer this really isn’t the time to worry about it.

    Good luck with your work. Enjoy the good mojo!

    Reply

  2. nerdywordyjana
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 12:25:53

    Thanks! ❤ The confidence boost came from my mom. And I'm sure you're WAAY too hard on yourself. And I'll be a reader for you if you want! I've been itching to do an edit on something other than my work. Editing your own stuff sucks. Editing for someone else is fun though! Because then you're helping someone out instead of driving yourself nuts. XD

    You need to believe in yourself. I haven't read your original fic, but I have read your fanfics. You are a BRILLIANT writer! I'm sure your original fic is amazing!

    Reply

  3. wolfraven80
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 14:23:32

    I’d be happy to have you as a reader! That would be great! Thank you!

    I guess one of the things that I worry about is being too generic, which is a problem for fantasy, generic in terms of world building and/or setting. Character is my strong suit and the the thing about fanfic is it lets me focus on that strength while ignoring my weakness. I don’t have to world build to write fanfic whereas I do in original fic and I’m not sure I’ve ever pulled it off.

    Here’s hoping I can get some momentum going and finish that last stretch soon. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

    Reply

  4. nerdywordyjana
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 00:52:09

    No problem! ❤

    Well, if you really feel it's a problem but you don't want to "deal" with it as much, why not try your hand at urban fantasy? The setting would be the "real" world just with fantasy elements in it. Then the world that you have to build would the culture more or less, which is something I know you can do. If it's the world that's stressing you out, change it. Urban (or is it called mystical realism? Hmm) is a really popular genre now. You could still write with an epic fantasy tone, but the setting would be easier to capture because it's more familiar. Just an idea. 😀

    I'm sure a rush will hit you. You can't go too long without writing. You'll get an itch. :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

