I’m a Bad Writer, Clearly

I’ve had the first draft of a novel done since December 27, 2011.  It’s just sitting there waiting for me to start editing it.  I wanted to let it set for a month to give me enough time to become detached from it and forget what I was trying to say.  It makes it easier for me to find my mistakes that way.  Except, I didn’t edit at all in February.  Not one word.  Truth be told?  I haven’t even opened the file since finishing and printing a hard copy.  That was sometime in early January.  

It’s almost the middle of March.  -.-  I wanted to have the edit complete by the beginning of March so I could start on a second draft or a polishing job.  Yeah.  That isn’t going to happen.  But, I CAN finish the edit by the end of March.  

I’d like to lie and say that I haven’t been editing because I’ve been so busy–which is partially true, I have been busy with school, but not that busy.  I did NaNo while taking 5 classes.  I only have 3 this semester (because of the crappy class times!), so really I haven’t been that busy.  I’ve just been lazy, plain and simple.  Some of it was nerves, but the majority of my procrastination has been sheer laziness.  

So to fix my laziness and light a fire under my rear, I’m posting this here.  I will hold myself accountable to public shame for not reaching my goal.  Starting tonight, I will post a word count bar like the NaNo ones that tracks my progress to the end of the draft.  

Feel free to harass me about editing.  XD  

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurastanfill
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 11:36:06

    Good luck! If it makes you feel any better, I’ve been messing around with the same one chapter since December! Perhaps I would have been better off setting it aside like you did.

    Reply

  2. nerdywordyjana
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 12:39:09

    I find that it helps. I can’t be as objective as I want to be if I don’t let it set.

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

