Editing Word Count Check In

I told myself that I would post my count to keep me motivated. It’s been working rather well. I finished the paper that was hanging over my head, so I spend this evening editing. It felt great, if not a little painful at times. (Did I really write that?) But I’ve found a couple of little gems in there, which made me happy. I’m glad there’s something in the draft that I like.

Anyway, here’s the important part! Tonight’s progress:

11083 / 95607
(11.59%)

Just gotta keep on chugging! πŸ˜€

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashleycatherinehowie
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 14:05:32

    First off, how did you get that progress chart? Secondly, don’t forget that its not just about the word count. Too much fluff in a book can make it drag on losing the wanted effect. Im concerned about that right now with my novel series. I have added almost 10,000 words since i’ve started the editing process with the publisher. I feel like it needed it, but my teacher the other day said the book was already good enough… wish you luck on editing! Hope it turns out well.

    Reply

  2. nerdywordyjana
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 05:59:43

    I found the counter at this website: http://svenja.atspace.com/wordmeter.html

    I’m not using the word count as an actual count; it’s more of a way to keep track of how much I’ve edited from the original draft. Yeah, I’m chopping the excess and adding some details where it’s needed. πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on getting your work to a publisher! That’s great! πŸ˜€

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

